LibGuides: IT Subject Guide: Databases

Databases

Databases are collections of online resources, providing access to journal articles, ebooks, reports, videos and more.

As a student of Sydney International you will have access to the ProQuest databases and e-book collections, as well as the Directory of Open Access Journals. You can use them as a starting point for all research areas because they cover a wide range of subjects in the fields of IT and Business, and have a powerful search interface.

ProQuest is an electronic resources database that offers access to:

thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and working papers
key business and IT
case studies, company records, and country-and industry-focused reports
major news sources such as, Wall Street Journal, Financial Times & Australian Financial Review

ProQuest E-book Central offers over 22,000 e-book titles covering a wide range of business and information technology topics including business management and innovation.

The ProQuest platform makes hundreds of full text and A&I (Abstracts & Indexes) collections available to researchers around the world. The ProQuest Platform hosts multidisciplinary content containing scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.

Coronavirus Research Database‎
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Directory of Open Access Journals
The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 16 500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.
EBook Central
ProQuest E-book Central offers over 22,000 e-book titles covering a wide range of business and information technology topics including business management and innovation.
IEEE Explorer
The IEEE Xplore digital library is your gateway to trusted research—journals, conferences, standards, ebooks, and educational courses—with nearly four million articles to help you fuel imagination, build from previous research, and inspire new ideas.
ProQuest OneBusiness
ProQuest One Business is a new solution designed to support the unique teaching and learning needs of business faculty and students. Developed in collaboration with faculty, students and business librarians, ProQuest One Business delivers a mix of practical and theoretical content in an interface that helps students build the research skills they'll need for success in their courses and careers.
Technology Collection
A full-text database supported by a specialized A&I file. Covers comprehensive scholarly output, managed by an expert editorial team overseeing content selection and indexing supported by a controlled vocabulary
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books and more. Provides access to open access items where available.
ResearchGate
We started ResearchGate in 2008 to address the problems we saw in the way science is created and shared. Our mission is to connect the world of science and make research open to all. The 20 million researchers in our community come from diverse sectors in over 190 countries, and use ResearchGate to connect, collaborate, and share their work.
State Library of NSW e-resources
The Library’s eresources include databases and websites that give access to a range of materials such as journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, audiobooks, dictionaries, multilingual material and tutorials for learning a language, online films, images. All NSW residents are eligible for this.

ProQuest database user guide

ProqQuest user guide